Spanish Friday: Mi Vergüenza

Hace dos findes salí a bailar con unas amigas. Nos divertimos muchísimo pero algo me sucedió que me dio vergüenza.
En el club que fuimos encontramos con otros amigos. Bailamos, platicamos, nos reímos pero principalmente en inglés. Sé que eso no parece nada raro pero la mayoría de nosotros hablamos español. Entre algunos de mis amigos escuché español hablado de vez en cuando y aún yo dije unas cosas sin embargo mucho de la noche salió en inglés. Sobre todo nada de esto me dio vergüenza.
Lo que sí me la dio fue una pregunta que me hizo un amigo mío (de Venezuela). Luego esa noche empezó a tocar esa canción Llorarás, la cual es una de mis favoritas. Yo estaba cantando cuando este amigo me hizo la pregunta en inglés “Do you know what lloraras means?”. Pues le dije que ‘¡Claro!’.
La intención en hacerme esa pregunta no fue nada mal sino de curiosidad. Hace un año más o menos que nos conocimos y él aun no sabe tanto de mi habilidad de hablar español. La culpa es mía, casi nunca le hablaba en español por miedo y falta de confianza. ¡Que vergüenza!
Más que nunca espero cambiar eso…
English Translation
Two weekends ago I went dancing with some girlfriends. We had a lot of fun but something happened that embarrassed me.
At the club we went to, we met some other friends. We danced, we talked, we laughed but primarily in English. I know that doesn’t seem strange but the majority of us speak Spanish. I heard Spanish spoken among some of my friends once in a while and I even said a few things however much of the night was in English. Above all, none of this embarrassed me.
What did embarrass me was a question a friend of mine (from Venezuela) asked me. Later that night, the song Llorarás, which is one of my favorite songs, began to play. I was singing when this friend asks me in English “Do you know what llorarás means?”. We I said to him “Of course!”.
The intent behind the question wasn’t anything bad but of curiosity. We met about a year ago and he still doesn’t know much about my ability to speak Spanish. It’s my fault, I almost never spoke to him in Spanish because I was afraid and lacked the confidence. How embarrassing!
More than ever I hope to change that…
spanishfriday
2 comments

  1. I can identify with feeling shy about speaking Spanish because of lack of confidence. I’m shy in general so it’s hard sometimes for me to speak up even in English, but over the years I’ve learned that native speakers are very forgiving of mistakes I make and I’m almost always understood – so just speak, and the more you speak, the easier it becomes!

    Sounds like a fun night out though! :)

    1. Yes it definitely was a fun night. I love your advice and I am definitely going to force myself to just jump right in y pase lo que pase! Thanks so much for stopping by!!!

Deja un comentario

